Skip to Main Content

Archives: Publications

Welcome to the Spring Arbor University Archives. Since 1973, there has been a concentrated effort to preserve and make available the rich history of Spring Arbor University as well as other areas of research within its scope.

Yearbooks

Spring Arbor University began publishing its yearbook annually in 1922 (biennially from 1934 to 1944). Its predecessor, “The Academian” was the first student yearbook published in 1915. The yearbook documents the people, events, activities, and growth of the Spring Arbor academic community during its school years.

Permission to reproduce this item is required and may be subject to copyright, fees, and other legal restrictions. Use of this resource, with proper attribution, is available for noncommercial educational, scholarly, or research purposes, and for other uses in accordance with U.S. copyright law.

A .pdf file is available from the digital repository for download.  After selecting the year, please scroll down after the Description and click on the yearbook icon.
1915 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929 1930
1931 1932 1933-1934 1935-1936 1937-1938 1939-1940 1941-1942 1943-1944 1945 1946
1947 1948 1949 1950 1951 1952 1953 1954 1955 1956
1957 1958 1959 1960 1961 1962 1963 1964 1965 1966
1967 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976
1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986
1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996
1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004    
                   

Repository Information

The physical repository for the print copies of the digital publications is the Spring Arbor University Archives housed in the Hugh A. and Edna C. White Library.

 

Alumni Publications

Running from the early 20th century through 1970, The Bulletin, a news publication for the alumni and friends of Spring Arbor University, contains feature articles on faculty, campus events, majors and/or programs, and in the later issues a S.A.C. Update column by the president of the college.

For research purposes, a searchable .pdf document containing the years 1927-1970 is accessible here  For individual issues, please contact the archivist.

Running from 1970 through 1975, The Update, a news publication for the alumni and friends of Spring Arbor University, contains feature articles on faculty, campus events, majors and/or programs, and alumni news.

For research purposes, a searchable .pdf document containing the years 1970-1975 is accessible here.  For individual issues, please contact the archivist.

1970-1975 Update

Running from 1975 to the present, The Journal, a news publication for the alumni and friends of Spring Arbor University, contains feature articles on faculty, campus events, majors and/or programs, and a column by the president.

For research purposes, a searchable .pdf document containing the years 1975-2017 is accessible here.  Issues from 2017 to the present is available here.  For individual issues, please contact the archivist.

OCR Note

The text and/or images presented in the .pdf documents is in raw, un-copyedited form, as created by optical character recognition (OCR) software. OCR technology is not always reliable and should be used for preliminary research only.